Maybelline Falsies Flared Waterproof Mascara

Me and my sad, short, straight, Asian lashes need a lot of help. In my career, I’ve had a chance to try a lot of mascaras (when you go through half a bottle of makeup remover a day from trying so many mascaras… I count that as a lot!).

The Maybelline Falsies Flared Waterproof Mascara has been my go-to for gajillion bottles – no joke. These have made my lashes look like fake lashes and it’s fabulous! The applicator grips all my short stubby lashes and applies really well.

I use my eyelash curlers (I use two – another topic to divulge in the future) and crimp my lashes from root-to-tip in 3-4 sections. When you’re looking for a waterproof mascara that will hold this curl, do not pick  the ones where the ingredients start with water. Products, like this Falsies Flared Waterproof, that have ingredient lists that start with isododecane is what you want. It’s a solvent that flashes off really quickly to help “set” the curl that you’ve created.

When you buy a fresh bottle of isododecane-based waterproof mascara, pump the brush a few dozen times. Waterproof formulas are really thin when they’re fresh and there will be virtually nothing applied on the lash if you don’t pump the brush and incorporate air into the formula. I read a few poor reviews on the Maybelline and Amazon website saying that their product was dried out. It’s probably because they didn’t see any product applied on the lashes due to the lack of this crucial “pump” step. I tend to see the best application after 2-3 weeks of daily use, where the formula is thick and rich, with a great creamy application. The flexing hinge on the wand also allows for the optimal pressure of the brush to my lashes, maximizing the formula application and separation of each lash. The end result are lashes that are long and volumized, with that flared look that I love <3

I know it seems short, but I always buy a fresh bottle of mascara after 3 months from the date of use and chuck the old one. It’s a product used around the eyes and you want to make sure that your product is fresh and free of unfriendly microbes.

IMG_4858

 

 

 

IMG_4852

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Falsies Flared Waterproof Mascara

  1. Pingback: Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler & Koji Accent Curler | Christl's Cosmetic Chattery

Leave a Reply

