Elemis Spa At Home Body Brush

Have you ever had that one deep tissue massage that you wish never ended? One that was right by the ocean during vacation? Mine was at Castaway Cay, Disney Cruise Line’s private island. My BFF treated me to the best massage I’ve ever had. The staff for the cruise were trained by Elemis Spa, and it was what the doctor ordered for my tight shoulders and calves. They gave us a full questionnaire and chatted with us prior to the treatment so they knew what to look out for and to discuss any concerns.

After the treatment, Lucy, my masseuse, recommended that I body brush and use an antioxidant oil that would help with my trifecta of problems that I wanted to fix – dry skin, dull skin, and cellulite. I had heard of body brushing before, but was always skeptical. However, Lucy really convinced me that she knew what she was talking about (especially after giving me the best massage of my life!) and I went ahead and ordered the products (I’ll review the Cellutox Active Body Oil in a future post).

The body brush has really stiff cactus bristles and it’s definitely a little intimidating at first. I had to be really gentle the first couple times – it takes a little getting used to. I typically use it in the morning prior to showering, and it totally wakes you up! Body brushing gets your circulation going while exfoliating your skin. With the current concerns with polyethylene beads from exfoliating body washes and hand soaps washing into the oceans, this is a great alternative to buffing your skin. The boost of circulation at the surface of your skin helps to remove toxins in the dermis and epidermis quicker than when the skin is sedentary. Body brushing has also helped my lotion absorb quicker into the skin and my skin is brighter and more taut than before! I love it as part of my skin care regimen.

IMG_4858

 

 

 

IMGP8212_2

